

CHRISTODOULOU FASTEST IN FRIDAY PRACTICE 1 FOR THIS WEEKEND'S ROUND THREE OF THE STAR MAZDA CHAMPIONSHIP AT MILLER MOTORSPORTS PARK



MMP (May 15, 2009) -- In the cool of the morning, English racer Adam Christodoulou continued his near-domination of pre-race practice sessions turning a lap (1:44.608 / 104.894 mph) in his #11 JDC Motorsports Mazda that was 4/10ths of a second clear of the second-fastest car, Joel Miller's #2 JDC Motorsports / Fader Higher Productions / Mockett / Burns Truck &

Trailer Mazda (1:45.014 / 104/489 mph).

It's obviously a lot cooler than yesterday afternoon and that helped us, along with the fact that yesterday we seemed to be the track sweepers for all the other series and today the Formula BMWs went out first with allowed us to get decent tire temperatures early and jell the whole thing together," said Christodoulou. "We changed the car setup quite dramatically last night and it seems to have worked extremely well; yesterday I had quite a lot of oversteer, but this morning the car felt quite even so this afternoon we just have to work toward qualifying and possibly a bit of race setup."

Taking away Christodoulou's 4/10ths advantage, the first thirteen cars in the 33-car field are circulating around the Miller Motorsports track within one second of each other. Louisiana racer Alex Ardoin, currently 5th in the championship battle, has been a consistent presence in the top-5, turning a 1:45.086 (104.417 mph) in the #51 JDC Motorsports / Oral & Facial Surgery Center / Twister Trailer Mazda. And Brazilian Caio Lara, quick in both Thursday sessions was again fast, his lap of 1:45.020 (104.438 mph) in the #19 JDC Motorsports Mazda good for third on the time sheet.

Perhaps the most notable – and closely-watched – upgrade was that of Irishman Peter Dempsey, who spent both sessions yesterday in the mid-46s and today upped his game to a 1:45.187 (104.317 mph) that put him 5th on the time sheet in the #3 AIM Autosport / Motorsport Ireland / Queyside.ie Mazda. Dempsey won four Star Mazda Championship races in 2008, and took his first win of 2009 in Round Two at Virginia International Raceway. Also making dramatic improvements over Thursday's sessions, where he ranked 22nd in the morning and 10th in the afternoon, was Scandinavian racer Anders Krohn, driving the #27 Mundill / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda. His lap of 1:45.220 (104.284 mph) put him 6th in the order, much more in line with where you would expect the 2008 FF2000 champion to be running.

Pos	PIC	No.	Name	Best Tm	Best Spd	In Lap	Diff	Gap
1	1	11	Adam Christodoulou	1:44.608	104.894	6		
2	2	2	Joel Miller	1:45.014	104.489	17	0.406	0.406
3	3	19	Caio Lara	1:45.020	104.483	12	0.412	0.006
4	4	51	Alex Ardoin	1:45.086	104.417	9	0.478	0.066
5	5	3	Peter Dempsey	1:45.187	104.317	17	0.579	0.101
6	6	27	Anders Krohn	1:45.220	104.284	15	0.612	0.033
7	7	13	Michael Furfari	1:45.506	104.002	10	0.898	0.286
8	8	17	Mikael Grenier	1:45.562	103.946	15	0.954	0.056
9	9	33	Richard Kent	1:45.713	103.798	18	1.105	0.151
10	10	21	Dennis Navarro	1:45.790	103.722	11	1.182	0.077
11	11	30	Rick Rosin	1:45.826	103.687	10	1.218	0.036
12	12	22	Conor Daly	1:45.851	103.663	11	1.243	0.025
13	13	72	Jorge Goncalvez	1:46.014	103.503	15	1.406	0.163
14	14	71	David Ostella	1:46.479	103.051	8	1.871	0.465
15	15	29	Phil Fogg	1:46.575	102.958	14	1.967	0.096
16	16	15	Taylor Hacquard	1:46.711	102.827	11	2.103	0.136
17	17	61	Sean Burstyn	1:46.913	102.633	13	2.305	0.202
18	18	24	J.C. Kester	1:46.951	102.597	11	2.343	0.038
19	19	82	Billy Goshen	1:46.962	102.586	12	2.354	0.011
20	20	48	Kristy Kester	1:46.972	102.576	14	2.364	0.010
21	21	64	Patrick O'Neil	1:47.072	102.481	10	2.464	0.100
22	22	16	Chris Cumming	1:47.111	102.443	13	2.503	0.039
23	23	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:47.239	102.321	8	2.631	0.128
24	24	91	Michael Guasch	1:47.364	102.202	17	2.756	0.125
25	25	77	Kevin Toledo	1:47.591	101.986	9	2.983	0.227
26	26	55	Gerry Kraut	1:48.036	101.566	13	3.428	0.445
27	27	18	Stan Kohls	1:48.539	101.095	11	3.931	0.503
28	28	12	Chuck Hulse	1:48.728	100.920	15	4.120	0.189
29	29	86	David House	1:48.867	100.791	19	4.259	0.139
30	30	20	Gustavo Linares	1:48.965	100.700	5	4.357	0.098
31	31	80	Toshi Deki	1:49.221	100.464	14	4.613	0.256
32	32	83	Bruce Binnquest	1:50.856	98.982	13	6.248	1.635
33	33	23	Walt Bowlin	1:51.810	98.138	14	7.202	0.954

A pair of 45-minute official practice sessions will take place on Friday, May 15 at 8:45 am and 1:00 pm. Qualifying to set the grid for the Star Mazda Championship's spectacular, F1-style standing start takes place from 8:35 am - 9:20 am Saturday, May 16, with the 45-minute Round 3 of the 2009 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear at Miller Motorsports Park during the Larry H. Miller Dealerships Utah Grand Prix Presented by the Grand & Little America Hotels scheduled to get the green light at 6:05 pm Saturday afternoon.

